Indian Transplant Newsletter.Vol. 14 Issue No.: 45 (Jul 2015–Oct 2015)
Print ISSN 0972 - 1568

“Beginning of the New Dawn” Annual Transplant Coordinators’ Conference 2015

Indian Transplant Newsletter.
Vol. 14 Issue No.: 45 (Jul 2015–Oct 2015)
Print ISSN 0972 - 1568
Print PDF

The two-day annual conference of the National Association  of Transplant Coordinators (NATCO) saw 120 enthusiastic delegates from all corners of India. As this conference was held in conjunction with the Indian Society of Organ Transplantation (ISOT) Conference, the delegates had the rare opportunity of listening to some of the finest speakers from all over the world.

Day 1 started with Mr. Howard Nathan, President & CEO, Gift of Life Donor Program, Philadelphia, sharing his experience with deceased organ donation. Followed by this was a presentation on the latest marvel in medical history, the presentation by Dr. Subramania Iyer on “Dual Hand Transplantation”.

The NATCO conference was formally inaugurated by Dr. Jagdish Prasad, Director General of Health Services, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India. He lauded the work done by transplant coordinators, and urged them   to continue to do the good work of saving the life of patients that are suffering with end stage organ failure. The other guests for the inaugural programme were Dr. Manjula Balasubramanian, Dr. Balasubramanian, Dr. Anirban Bose, Dr. Anil Chandraker – all from the USA and Dr. Umesh Oza, President, ISOT.

The conference had an excellent balance of Indian and international  speakers  sharing  their  experience.  Dr. Gurch Randhawa, UK, Dr. Lori West, Canada, Dr. Hariharan Iyer, USA, Mr. Kirit Mistry, UK, and Dr. Isabel Quiroga, UK shared their experiences in deceased organ donation, in the areas of public engagement, ABO incompatible transplantation, and organ distribution.

The delegates presented excellent papers in the free paper session, which was judged by Dr. Gurch Randhawa and Mr. Kirit Mistry. Ms. Beena Pillai from Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences & Technology, Thiruvananthapuram was the recipient of the “Best Free Paper Award” for her paper on “Experiences with Homograft Valve Bank”. The best poster award went to Mr. Dilip Jain from MGM Hospital, Jaipur.

The “Swamy Narayan Best Transplant Coordinator Award” went to Mr. Jacob Mathew from Lakeshore  Hospital,  Kochi, Maj. Joyot Chattopadhyay from Command Hospital, Chandimandir and Dr. Bhanuchandra, MOHAN Foundation, Hyderabad.

All the awards were given away during the valedictory function held on the evening of 4th October, 2015 by the Chief Guest Mr. K. Periaiah, IPS, DIG, Police Training College, Chennai along with Mr. V. Baskaran, Nodal Officer for Organ Donation, Tamil Nadu Police.

To cite : Shroff S, Navin S. “Beginning of the New Dawn” Annual Transplant Coordinators’ Conference 2015. Indian Transplant Newsletter.Vol. 14 Issue No.: 45 (Jul 2015–Oct 2015).
Available at:

  • Copyright © 2024. Published by MOHAN Foundation